How to Go After a Noncustodial Parent for Child Support

We’ve all heard of child support, which is the amount of money a court orders one or both parents to pay to support their children’s living expenses.  A common complaint is that one parent is not fulfilling his or her child support obligations.  This article will explain the procedure for enforcing child support and provide information on free resources to assist in the process.

  1. Get an Order. An Order is a written document by the Court that shows entitlement to child support.  A verbal promise from one spouse to another is not an Order.
  • If you and the other parent agree. If you do not have an Order, but you and the other parent can come to an agreement about the amount, then you memorialize that in writing and then the Judge will approve it if he or she feels it is in the best interest of the child.
  • If you and the other parent do not agree. If you do not have an Order, and you and the other parent cannot come to an agreement, then you will have to file an action for child support.
  1. Motion for Contempt. The next step, once you have the Order in hand, is to file a Motion for Contempt.  You have probably heard of being “in contempt” of court in a criminal matter.  In a civil matter, such as a divorce, a Motion for Contempt basically asserts to the Court that the other party has not obeyed the Court’s order.  If the Judge grants the Motion for Contempt, then the other parent can be ordered to pay fines or serve jail time.
  • Time limit. Timing is very important!  Be sure to file your Motion for Contempt within three years from the payment is due to avoid having the statute of limitations run.
  1. Driver’s License Penalties. If the payment is more than 30 days late on child support, the DMV may refuse to issue or renew a drivers’ license.  If the payment is more than 120 days late for child support, the State of California can revoke the non-paying parent’s license.
  1. Can interest be charged on missed support payments?  Yes, interest accrues at the rate of 10% per year.
  1. Available Resources.
  • If you are looking for other government resources relating to child support, visit childsup.ca.gov. This website is run by the California Department of Child Support Services and may have helpful resources to assist you.

 

3 Things You Need to File For Divorce with the Court in California

If you are ready for a divorce, you may wonder about the essentials needed to get the process rolling and the steps that must be taken to reach your goal.  This article will discuss three essentials for getting a divorce in California.

  1. Time. There is a mandatory waiting period in California that prevents any couple being divorced in less than 6 months. The divorce can take longer, but it can’t take shorter.  The starting point is the date the person officially notifies the spouse or domestic partner about the divorce.  You can get your paperwork in sooner and get the judgment approved, but the divorce will not be final until the waiting period has run.
  • Summary dissolution. You may be wondering if you can avoid the waiting period by obtaining a summary dissolution instead of a divorce.  The answer is no, a summary dissolution does not have a shorter waiting period than a divorce.  Y
  1. You will have to pay a fee to file the divorce papers with the court, unless you qualify for a fee waiver.  You can qualify for a fee waiver if 1) you are receiving public benefits, 2) if you household income before taxes is less than the minimum amounts designated by the court, or 3) if the court finds that you don’t have enough money to pay for your household’s basic needs and the court fees.
  1. Residency in California. A court has to have jurisdiction to hear your case, which is why residency is important.  It would not make sense if you and your spouse both resided in New York, and you asked a judge in California to have jurisdiction over a California divorce.  Either you or your spouse must have lived in California for the last 6 months and the county where you plan to file the divorce for the last 3 months.  If you and your spouse have lived in different counties for the last 3 months, then you can file in either county.  You can still file for a legal separation if you haven’t been in California for the last six months, and then you can file for divorce when the time has expired.

The essentials are fairly straightforward:  time, money and residency.  The details of the divorce can be more complex, so consult with an attorney on your specific facts.

 

3 Things Most People Do Wrong When Being Charged With a DUI

When you have been charged with a DUI, it is easy to focus on negative

1. What Most People Do Wrong:  Panic, Give Up, or Focus on Regret. What You Can Do Right:  Spend energy on affirmations.

    • You can’t change the past, so you need to put your energy into the future.  Here are some affirmations that will help you be confident in yourself and your future happiness.
      • Know that you may have defenses that you aren’t aware of yet.
      • Understand that everyone makes mistakes, and you can always recover.
      • Forgive yourself and focus on what you can learn from the experience to help you in the future.

2. What Most People Do Wrong:  Delay.  Procrastination is one of your most dangerous enemies if you have been charged with a DUI. Some people requesting a DMV hearing and miss the deadline, others delay seeking legal counsel immediately, others wait to begin changing harmful habits.   

What You Can Do Right:  Take immediate action!  

  • Request a DMV hearing to avoid the default, which is a suspended license.
  • Immediately start looking for an attorney who is experienced in criminal law, particularly DUI.
  • Change your habits starting now, so that you don’t end up in more hot water. Make sure you do not risk getting another DUI. If you struggle with substance abuse or alcoholism, work with your attorney to identify treatment programs or counseling that you may work into a plea deal if you decide not to go to trial.

3. What Most People Do Wrong:  Spend money as usual, and forget to set aside funds for DUI.  What You Can Do Right:  Start preparing financially.   If convicted, you will be facing costs of fines, counseling, and eventually increased insurance costs and an interlock device when you can drive again.  These costs add up, so now is the time to start preparing financially to handle those responsibilities.

      • If you qualify, a public defender can save you costs.  Some defendants prefer to hire a private attorney.
      • Start setting aside money from paychecks to allocate to DUI expenses.
      • Talk to family members about assisting you during this time, if they are able to contribute.

A DUI can be challenging, but you can hit it head on by being proactive.  Don’t give up or panic.  Find an attorney who may be able to assist you in beating the charge.  Take immediate action to defend yourself and your right to drive. Prepare financially to put yourself in the best position to succeed in making the most of a tough situation.

 

3 Things to Know About the Discovery Process for a Divorce Case

If you are going through a divorce, you may hear terms that you don’t understand.  One of the terms that is heard often is “discovery.”  This article will explain the basics of discovery – what is discovery, what types of methods, and what types of information are produced– so that you can understand the procedures and terms that will be used in your divorce.  

1. What is discovery?

  • In legal cases, both parties need information.
  • The process for obtaining this information is called “discovery.”  
  • One question clients often ask is whether you can hide information or lie about it or say that it’s too private to disclose?  
    • In general spouses are under obligation to make a full and accurate disclosure and failure to do so can result in a Motion to Compel and ultimately sanctions.  However, your attorney is in the best position to assists you in properly responding in the discovery process.

2. What are the different means of discovery?  Here is a sample of some of the most used methods of obtaining information in the discovery process for a divorce case:

  • Depositions – interviews with parties or non-parties.
  • Interrogatories – written questions to the other party.
  • Requests for Admission – similar to an interrogatory because it is in writing, but with these you are not asking for information, you are asking for it to be admitted (i.e. confirmed or ratified).
  • Inspection Demand – where a party wants an opportunity to review certain documents or things.
  • Request for an Income and Expense Declaration. If support has been ordered (child, family or spousal support), then one party can use this to obtain production of a current income and expense declaration and income tax returns.

3. What types of information are typically discoverable in a divorce case?  The range of information that can be gleaned from discovery is very large.  In general, it covers any unprivileged information that is relevant to the case. In layman’s terms, it’s relevant if it could be admitted as evidence in the case or if it could lead to relevant evidence in the case.  Here are a few examples of the types of information that could be requested in discovery:

    • Employee payroll information – since this is important to proper division of community property and to determine child support and spousal report, this information is typically part of the discovery process.
    • Business Records or tax returns — If one of the parties has a business, then the information about the value of the business and its assets will be important to determine.
    • Information about where the child is – If one parent does not know the whereabouts of one or all of the children, this information can be obtained in discovery.
    • Domestic violence convictions – This type of conviction impacts the safety of the child.  Often one parent is aware of the history of child abuse or domestic violence of the other parent, but if not, this information could be found out through discovery.

 

How to Know If You Have Chosen the Right Family Lawyer

You are getting a divorce. Or perhaps you have happy news, and you are adopting a child. It can be liberating, overwhelming, stressful, or exciting or all of the above.  No matter how your family is changing or how you feel about it, the most important action you can take to ensure that it goes as smoothly as possible is to find the right lawyer.

1. Experience. Experience. Experience.  If you don’t have someone with experience, you have the wrong attorney.

  • Education is not the same as experience, so it almost goes without saying that your attorney is not fresh out of law school and working on his or her first family law case.
  • Ask your attorney how many family law cases he or she has handled.  A
  • Ask about the outcomes of your attorney’s previous cases.
  • Ask how comfortable your attorney is with hearings, in the court room, and in your jurisdiction.
  • Don’t just be satisfied with surface answers but really dig to make sure that your lawyer is knowledgeable, confident, and accomplished.

2. Find the Lawyer that Fits Your Style.

  • You know your situation and your personal preferences better than anyone else, so find the lawyer that is a good fit for you.  Here are some types to look for:
    • The Bulldog” – some attorneys are extremely brash and aggressive. This might be the type of person you need if you have a bully for a spouse in a divorce or if there are issues that will be hotly contested.
    • The Negotiator”– some attorneys are excellent at finding the win-win for all parties and for the family, and they can be effective in selling solutions even to an adversarial spouse.
    • The Researcher” – some family law cases involve assets that are complex.  Perhaps a you own a business together, perhaps some of your assets are also owned with other family members or in-laws. If you know that your assets are complicated, you want an attorney with the patience and finesse to handle that type of case.
    • The Problem-Solver” – some families face unique problems – care for a special needs family member for example or perhaps a parent’s job that places unusual hurdles that make the case atypical.  If you see that your divorce falls in this category, you want to find an attorney who can think outside the box and who isn’t just trying to fit you into one of a few typical scenarios.

3. Make sure Your Attorney Is Within Your Budget.

  • You can expect a family law case – whether divorce or adoption — to put a strain on your finances, even if you have a fairly large family budget because it is an out of the ordinary expense.
  • Ask your attorney how he or she anticipates your case will go.
  • Don’t be afraid to push for an estimate on costs.
  • Find out how you will be billed and who will work on your case.
  • Inquire about the most cost-effective means of communication with your attorney and his or her staff – i.e. emails, calls, texts, etc.

 

 

5 Secrets to a Successful DUI Defense

If you are facing a DUI charge, the most important step is not to give up.  The government has the burden to prove its case against you, and there is hope for a good resolution.  This article will give you the 5 most important secrets to preparing your DUI defense.

1. Request an administrative hearing with the DMV regarding your Driver’s License within 10 days.

  • What is this hearing? – You only have 10 days from the date of arrest to request a hearing at the DMV office.  The formal name is Driver Safety Administrative Per Se “APS” Hearing.   
  • What happens if I do request it? – A DMV hearing officer (not a judge) presides over this hearing.  This officer cannot fine you or send you jail.  The sole issue is whether or not your driver’s license should be suspended.  
  • What happens if I don’t request it? – If you don’t request a hearing, the default is that your license will be suspended 30 days from your arrest.

2. Get an attorney that has experience in DUI cases.

  • Attorneys are not “one size fits all.”  There are many different areas in which attorneys specialize.  They also greatly range in experience and competence.
  • Look for an attorney who focuses on criminal law and who has experience.
  • Find an attorney who regularly practices in the court where you will appear so that your lawyer will know the judge and the prosecutor well or at least have been in front of them before.

3. Use the DMV Hearing to Learn More about the Case Against You.

  • Bring an attorney and gather information.  You have the right to be represented by an attorney at the DMV hearing, and it provides a good opportunity for you and your attorney to find out information because you can do the following:
    • Hear the evidence against you
    • Subpoena witnesses (such as the arresting officer)
    • Present testimony of witnesses (such as a passenger who was with you)
    • Cross-examine witnesses
    • Testify yourself.

4. Consider a Motion to Suppress Evidence

  • A Motion to Suppress is basically a document that requests that the Judge disallow certain evidence against you on the basis that it was illegally obtained.  
  • This Motion could be challenging the reason for the traffic stop, the questioning conducted by a police officer, etc.
  • A Motion to Suppress is very fact-specific based on your particular case, so be sure to consult with your attorney on whether this Motion would be effective in your case.

5. Consider a Plea Bargain.

  • Although some Defendants relish their “day in court,” there are instances where a plea bargain may be a safer bet given the evidence against you.
  • Like the Motion to Suppress, the decision on whether a plea bargain is right for you is very individual to your specific case.  You will need to consult with your attorney, but keep your mind open to a plea bargain because sometimes the best defense is when your attorney negotiates an advantageous bargain for you.

 

 

Criminal Court 101:  Basic Fundamentals of Criminal Court

If you have been charged with a crime in California for the first time, you probably have a lot of questions.  This article will help you understand the basic rules for the criminal court system.

What is the difference between criminal court and civil court?  

  • Criminal court – criminal charges are brought by either the federal government, state government, or city against you with the allegation that you have violated a law. If the defendant is found guilty, the judge can impose a sentence that includes fines, jail/prison, or other restrictions or requirements.
  • Civil court – this occurs when one party (for example, a person, business or organization) has a claim against another party and requests the court to decide the question.  A person will not go to jail or prison for a civil case.

What types of criminal offenses are there?  

  • Infractions – this is the lower violation in terms of seriousness, and it is something like a traffic violation.  The punishment is usually a fine.
  • Misdemeanors – this is more serious than an infraction. The jail time can be 6 months or a year and the fine can be up to $1000 typically.
  • Examples include DUI, petty theft, vandalism
  • Felonies – these are the most serious.  Punishments can include fines, jail, prison, or even the death penalty in very rare cases.

What is the difference between the state system and the federal system?  

  • Type of crime – there are federal laws and state laws, but in some cases, one crime could qualify as either federal or state.  
  • Procedures – there are different procedures in the federal system vs. the state system, for example in the procedures for charging a defendant and for sentencing
  • Courtroom/judges – the courtroom and judges are different for federal vs. state

Do I need an attorney?

  • You have a right to represent yourself, so you are not required to have an attorney.
  • An attorney is trained in the rules and procedures of the court, and typically that information will be advantageous to your case.
  • Conventional wisdom is that there are advantages to having someone represent you besides just the knowledge.  Most attorneys, if they are charged with a serious offense, will even hire someone to represent them.  A person who is outside the situation is often less emotionally invested and has the impartiality to see angles and arguments that someone who is under the stress of the case may not be able to discern as easily.

4 Things You Didn’t Know About Shoplifting and Theft In California

If you have been charged with a crime in the theft category, you may have some questions about shoplifting or theft.  This article addresses some common questions.

Is it a crime if you didn’t leave the store?  Yes it can be. You can still be convicted of a crime, if you took something but didn’t leave the store.  If you look at the elements below, you will notice that the prosecutor doesn’t have to prove that you moved the item out of the store.  Still, the prosecutor must prove that you had intent, so that’s one area that can be attacked in the prosecution’s case if, for example, you intended to pay for the item but put it in a pocket or a purse without thinking.

What does the prosecution have to prove to convict me of petty theft?  The summary below will show you the general  elements of petty theft:  

  • taking possession of property owned by someone else
  • without the owner’s consent
  • with the intent to remove it from the owner’s possession
  • moving it, and keep it for a period of time
  • value of property is $950 or less.

What does the prosecution have to prove to convict me of shoplifting?  The summary below will show you the general  elements of petty theft:  

  • entering a commercial establishment (for example, a store)
  • while the establishment is open during regular business hours
  • with the intent to steal items worth less than $950

How can you fight a theft charge?  

  • Lack of intent – You can show that you had no intent to steal the item.  For example, if you purchased many expensive items and forgot to pay for the milk that was at the bottom of the cart, then those factors would indicate that not paying for the milk was an oversight rather than an intentional taking.   
  • Accident/Mistake– This defense also attacks the intent element by showing that you were unaware of the item or that it was a mistake.  For example, if a child or friend put the item in your pocket without your knowledge, you could claim that it was a mistake.  Or, if you thought the item had been previously purchased by a family member or friend, then that could show a valid accident or mistake.
  • Belief the property belonged to you – This defense is also a subset of lack of intent and can be used when you believed that the property was yours and not someone else’s property.
  • Consent from the owner – If the owner said or did something that made you believe that they consented to your use or taking of the property, then this is also a defense.

 

 

5 Things You Should Know About Domestic Violence

If you are facing domestic violence charges or if you are a victim or a witness in a domestic violence case, you may have some basic questions.  

Can the victim “drop the charges”?  No, in a criminal case the victim is not the person bringing the charges.  In a civil suit, the plaintiff can choose to dismiss the case.  In a criminal case, the charges are brought by prosecutor, and the judge has the power to dismiss the case. The prosecutor has to have enough evidence to be able to convict the defendant, so the victim’s testimony may have an impact on the prosecutor’s ability to convict.  However, in many domestic violence cases, the prosecution has pictures, statements from the victim which may be admissible due to the particular circumstances, or other types of evidence that can be used in spite of a victim’s reluctance.      

Do the defendant and the victim have to be married for the crime to count as domestic violence?  No, the defendant and the victim just have to be in an intimate relationship (which includes but is not limited to marriage).  For example, domestic partners, currently or previously dating, living or lived together, have a child together can all qualify as an intimate relationship for a domestic violence charge.

Is domestic violence a felony or a misdemeanor level crime?  Each case is unique and the prosecutor determines the charges.  There are multiple different types of specific crimes relating to domestic violence.  In general, the extent of injury involved is one factor the prosecutor uses in determining how to charge, and the second factor is previous criminal convictions.  

Are there any possible defenses to a domestic violence charge? Yes, there are many potential defenses, and you should seek legal advice on the facts of your specific case. Self-defense is one common defense, where the defendant claims that he/she reasonably perceived an imminent threat, had a proportional response and was not the initial aggressor.  False allegations for manipulating child custody or divorce proceedings.  Here, the defendant shows that the witness has a motive to lie about facts, and did in fact lie about them.  Another tactic for winning these types of cases is to attack the level of proof presented.  The prosecutor must prove the crime beyond reasonable doubt and many domestic violence cases leave room for significant doubt about what was said and done. Another common defense is to show that the conduct was not willful, in the instances where a true accident occurred.

Is a domestic violence allegation a big deal? Yes, it can be, and it’s likely that you are going to want to hire an attorney to vigorously defend you.  Fines can be up to $6,000, and on rare occasions with enhancements even higher.  Penalties can include up to a year of jail for misdemeanors and several years for felonies.  Convictions can have consequences for your career as well, so it’s important to take a domestic violence allegation seriously.

 

Criminal Law Basics:  How Does the Criminal Law System Work?

If you are facing a criminal charge, you may be wondering how the criminal law system works.  This article will walk you through the main steps in a typical criminal case.  

  1. Arrest and Jail.  The typical start of a criminal case is the arrest by the police.  

From there, there are three main scenarios:  

1) the defendant can be released from jail if the prosecutor decides to drop the case,

2)  the defendant posts bail/bond, and is released with the promise to appear,

3) the defendant stays in jail.

Charging.  The police write a report.  The prosecutor reviews the report and has discretion to decide whether or not to file charges and which ones. Charges are typically filed within 48 hours of the arrest if the defendant is in custody.  

Arraignment.  This is the defendant’s first appearance in court to find out what the charges are and to enter a plea, which is very often “Not Guilty.”  Even if you think you are guilty, it is often advisable to enter a “Not Guilty” plea at this stage of the process.  After the plea is entered, the judge will either release the defendant on his or her own recognizance, or set bail for the defendant’s release, or require that he or she stay in jail.

Pre-trial. In the interim before the trial, there can be additional hearings.  For example, in felony cases, a preliminary hearing is held, where the judge makes sure that there is enough evidence for the case to continue.  In some cases, the defendant will concede that sufficient evidence exists, and waive the preliminary hearing.  This pre-trial time is the time for discovery, which is when the prosecution and defense can exchange documents.  During this time, the defense attorney will research the facts in more detail.  Motions can also be filed.  For example, a Motion to Suppress alleges that evidence should not be admitted (or heard by the jury), because the defendant’s rights were violated in the process of getting that evidence.

Trial.  A defendant is presumed innocent, so the purpose of the trial is for the prosecution to present the evidence that shows beyond reasonable doubt that the defendant committed the crime.  Each crime has specific elements that the prosecution must prove.  The trial must occur within a certain time period of the Arraignment.

Appeals.  If the verdict is guilty, the defendant may have the right to appeal.  The appeal must be filed within a certain time period, so a defendant should consult with his or her attorney immediately if an appeal is desired.

Sentencing.  If the verdict is guilty and an appeal is not sought, the next step is sentencing, where the judge imposes the punishment, which is typically involves fines, counseling, incarceration in jail or prison.